The Music of Viet Khang

It’s been over one month since the Vietnamese police arrested Viet Khang, a musician who was brave enough to raise the crimes of the Communist Party to the public.  Through his music, Viet Khang questions the rule of the Communists and shames them for their long list of atrocities they have committed against the country.  Because of his music, Viet Khang is now in jail, but because of Viet Khang, the Communists are terrified.

There are two songs of Viet Khang’s songs that have caused quite a stir in the Communist country.  One song is titled “Viet Nam Toi Dau?”, which translates to “Where Is My Vietnam?”  The other song is called “Anh La Ai?”, when translated to English, means “Who Are You?”  Both of these songs raise some very core issues in Vietnam today, issues that the Vietnamese government has been trying to cover up for the longest time.

The song shared above is “Viet Nam Toi Dau (Where Is My Vietnam)?”, and raises the issues of the Chinese invasion and the islands of Paracel and Spatley.  Basically, Viet Khang just sings about all of the embarassing concessions that the Vietnamese government has made to China, and asking when it all went so wrong.  The answer is easy: The Communists ruined the country, and Viet Khang is saying it through song.

Unfortunately for all my non-Vietnamese speakers, there is no English translation in this video, so you’ll just have to bare with me.  Don’t worry though, I’ve already told you the gist of the song, and the video footage will certainly help facilitate your understanding, even if the words are foreign.  The next song, “Anh La Ai (Who Are You)?” which, in my opinion, is even powerful lyrically, will be posted in the coming days.  Enjoy!

59 Responses to “The Music of Viet Khang”

  1. Thank you very much for what you have been doing to support our people for real freedom in Vietnam. Please, make two songs: “ANH LA AI” and “VIET NAM TOI DAU” in KARAOKE FORM; so that help more Vietnamese people can sing in Vietnamese like VIET KHANG, TRUC HO,MAI THIEN SON,QUOC KHANH,DOAN PHI,DAN THANH.
    Trung le

    • Linda Nguyen Says:

      Great news, here is a recent video of a couple of vietnamese male artist who’s supporting this. They made a video along with a english sub title, please spread the word and video.

      thanks

    • Eileen Nguyen Says:

      ALL THE VIETNAMESE AROUND THE WORLD SHOULD DO SOMETHING TO SAVE VIETNAM, TO SAVE VIET KHANG…FREEDOM FOR VIETNAM…

  2. Viet Khang, nguoi anh hung vietnam du dang song trong dat nuoc vietnam nhung da dam viet va hat nhung loi that ma moi nguoi deu biet nhung khong dam lam…

  3. Free Viet Khang Says:

    Please support a petition to set Viet Khang free by signing it at http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/set-viet-khang-free/

    • This is a BS website. Stupid VC who set this up

    • That sounds about right. Everybody, don’t go to this website! Go to this one instead!

      https://wwws.whitehouse.gov/petitions#!/petition/stop-expanding-trade-vietnam-expense-human-rights/53PQRDZH

      • Sounds? Is that what you based your conclusion on instead of the facts? If you have the facts, lay them out. The facts are Truc Ho signed my petition on 1/20, signature #114
        http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/set-viet-khang-free/signatures/page/3
        SBTN/Truc Ho wrote me asking to support their petition prior to its launch
        Hello there,
        On behalf of NS Truc Ho, we’d like to write and say thank you for sharing such valuable sources to help free Viet Khang, for as you know we are all very passionate about this particular cause. NS Truc Ho, SBTN, and many of those in our community have also been passionate about a number of other cases of human rights injustice. In the spirit of saving Viet Khang, as well as these other cases, we will be throwing our support behind an upcoming campaign to petition for President Obama’s help. Please join us, here is some more information on how to prepare.
        The right to petition your government is guaranteed by the First Amendment of the United States Constitution. The Obama Administration has launched a petitioning program called “We the People”. “We the People” provides a new way to petition the Obama Administration to take action. If a petition gets enough support (the minimum is currently 25,000 petitioners), White House staff will review it, ensure it’s sent to the appropriate policy experts, and issue an official response. We only need a valid email address to petition. Our goal is to reach more than 200,000 signatures in 30 days, and we plan on beginning our 30 day run on FEB 7th, 2012. Please have everyone get acquainted with the program and signed up with a WhiteHouse.gov account.
        I gave my support by emailing my supporters to sign, publicly calling people on facebook.com/FreeVietKhang to support the whitehouse.gov petition, and even after SBTN reposted an article against the “Set Viet Khang Free” petition from TTYN on SBTN facebook, I still ask people to sign the other petition for every thank you email that I send out when people signed my petition. Are these the actions of a VC?
        I chose a win-win instead of a win-lose approach. Why should there be only one petition to support VK’s release? People should sign every petition out there calling for his release. I started my petition on 1/5 and wanted to see a movement to free VK, and there is that movement today. I am happy to see such a movement regardless of who supported it.

  4. Vietnam needs more brave and courageous people like Viet Khang to stand up and fight the communist regime, and also for the preservation of VN. The current govt has betrayed the people, through oppression and concessions with china. I believe Viet Khang is the fire and lighting torch for the Vietnam people.

  5. we are vietnamese, who live in the U.S, should petition to U.S government to set Viet Khang free from Viet Cong’ s jail. His two songs are very touching.

  6. i am crying when i am listening to this song. All day today, all could listen was his songs.

  7. Viet khang anh da lam bao con Tim run dung va chi co anh da lam song lai long yeu nuoc truoc tham hoai ngoai xam cua Lu Giac tau ngu dot em luon luon cau Nguyen cho anh va cho dat nuoc Viet nam Minh som co ngay duoc tu do Dan Chu ! Love you

  8. From Le Viet, California,
    The Viet Khang’ issue must be the last drop to overflow the bottle. Oh! my Vietnamese compatriots : The heroic Viet Khang has opened the way for us to advance. Please do so to save our beloved country as soon as possible.

  9. hoang pham Says:

    viet khang em con rat tre ma da co mot tinh than yeu dan yeu nuoc ,da sang tac ra hai bai nhac ma anh nghi rat nhieu nguoi muon viet nhung viet khong duoc,anh rat cam phuc va chan qui hai nhac pham cua viet khang .neu anh co the lam gi de giup anh san sang go all the way.i love you

  10. It had proven that the current regime do not bring prosperity to local people but a lot of benefit to Red China.

    Viet Khang express his patriotsm to the country and waking viet namese all over the world about the verng of losing country to China.

  11. Vietnamese must united to defeat the current communist regime to bring democracy to the country.

    After WW II 1945 then five days war 1967 the Arab, the Jews had been able to defeat and stay in control of their country until now. It’s only 22 years; they are able to do what about us. 38 years later we still are the outsider and outcry. The current country condition has not been changed to better.

  12. Cau nguyen cho Viet Khang duoc binh an!

  13. Xin tat ca chung ta cung nhau cau nguyen cho Viet Khang, hay tin vao suc manh vo hinh tiep suc cho Viet Khang de tieng noi cua Viet Khang con tiep tuc vang len tren que huong chung ta…..Lets pray for Viet Khang everyone! He is the greatest Vietnamese singer/musician. He is the brightest torch for the Vietnamese youth…

    VIET KHANG : We love you!

  14. I believe “Anh La Ai?” and “Viet Nam Toi Dau?” are wake up calls for Vietnamese warriors whoever are willing to die for their country!

  15. TRUONG VAN LAN Says:

    VIET KHANG,moi nguoi Viet Nam tren hanh tinh nay dang nghe 2 bai hat va cua em da sang tac va chinh em da hat.Em con rat tre da co tam long yeu que huong va Dan-Toc Viet-Nam nong nan.Toi la mot cuu quan nhan cua che do cu Viet-Nam Cong Hoa,xin thay mat nhung chien huu cua toi : Cam on em da viet va hat len nhung dieu chung toi khong viet duoc.
    Chung toi nhung nguoi Viet-Nam tren toan the gioi dang nguyen cau cho em duoc an lanh. Em la mot trong nhung nguoi tre se mang lai Tu-Do va Doc-Lap cho nuoc Viet-Nam cua chung ta.

  16. chau ba thong Says:

    viet khang -viet cong- viet kieu
    trong ba anh viet anh nao viet gian
    viet kieu yeu nuoc xa que nay dang tranh dau dan quyen vi ai
    viet khang tuoi tre hien ngang mot minh da ho no quay long vong
    nhac anh viet hon thieng dan toc
    l
    loi anh ca cam dong khi troi bay cao mai den ben bo dan chu
    dap loi song nui viet nam toi dau anh la ai
    mot tam giac tuyet voi hoa hop y troi

  17. viet Khang ,nguoi hung cua Viet Nam

  18. Việt Khang là HERO/ là người con yêu của đất nước.
    Nếu Việt Khang có mệnh hệ gì thì Việt Khang đã làm tròn nhiệm vụ của một người yêu tổ quốc và dân tộc mình. Ngọn đuốc của Việt Khang đã và đang tỏa sáng khắp năm châu, bài hát của Việt Khang đã đi vào lòng mỗi người và trong thế hệ trẻ hôm nay sẽ có rất nhiều Việt Khang sau này cho quê hương – dân tộc.

  19. Viet Khang la con cua Me Viet Nam

  20. du me chung bay la mot dam cho Viet Cong dung len cai wed gia mao nay de lay het ten nhung nguoi ky thinh nguyen thu cho anh Viet Khang..tui bay dung la laoi cho Viet Cong tao cai web nay de hai Dong bao chung ta ba con dung tin cai web lon nay vi no la do Tui Viet Gian va bo cho Viet Cong dung len de pha haoi cuoc thinh nguyen thu cua dong bao o hai ngaoi..tui bay dung la bon cho viet gian va viet cong ban nuoc chi biet lam tai sai cho bon Tau cong

    • I hope you’re not talking about this blog, because the link I posted clearly leads to the official White House “We, the People” petition. If you actually looked at the article before dismissing it, you would know that. Please look at what you are criticizing before you make yourself look foolish.

      • Oh wait, what else did “Free Viet Khang” do?
        1. Wrote U2 Bono’s Manager asking for his support to speak out for VK.
        2. Tweeted Michelle Obama, Secretary Clinton, Senators McCain and Webb, and celebrities such as Keanu Reeves, Leonardo DiCaprio, Yanni, Yoko Ono, George Clooney, Matt Damon, Tom Hanks, Clint Eastwood, Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, Tom Cruise, Russell Crowe, Elton John, John Legend, Andrea Bocelli, Yo Yo Ma, Sting, Enya, Harrison Ford, former Presidents Carter and Clinton, Johnny Depp, Anderson Cooper, Ellen DeGeneres, Margaret Cho, Robin Williams, Carlos Santana, Bryan Adams asking them to support.
        3. Wanted to organize a national day of demonstration across the US and Canada for Free Viet Khang.

        Are these the actions of a VC? Hmmmm…..

  21. ky thinh nguyen thu chi co mot trang ma thoi do la thewhitehouse.gov con cai trang web nay la gia mao hoan toan ba con hay coi chung bon viet gian va viet cong

  22. Never, I would have thought that I work to free a total stranger half a world away. So, I thought I start a petition and with the public believing in it then it will gain enough signatures to be presented for help; without all the hoopla that comes with it. The hoopla did come, I guess I just need to stay focused to get the petition done, presented, and then hope for the best.

  23. Just found another petition on ipetitions for VK; it’s pretty bad with the English. It’s not even petition language, I am really surprised that people signed it. It looks like the work of someone from VN. Why would they create another one on the same site? Maybe to create distraction from the one that I created?

    http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/free-viet-khang/

    My is set-viet-khang-free

  24. @FreeVietKhang – I don’t know you personally, so it wouldn’t be fair for me to question your motives. If you are doing this out of the goodness of your heart, then absolutely, good on you.

    However, I hope you understand that a petition is only as good as it’s numbers, so it wouldn’t make sense for you to keep supporting another petition as it divides up the signatures. After all, why would you start up a rival political party when we are fighting for a common cause? Another petition fragments the people, and it just doesn’t help.

    I am not sure if your petition is operating independently from the White House petition or not, but the petition I am supporting is “We the People”. It doesn’t make any sense for your petition to direct signers to Truc Ho’s page, when you can just send them directly to the White House page.

    “We the People” is the primary petition, and that will be the one that President Obama is looking at himself. For this reason, I would ask that you help assist Mr. Truc Ho in gathering as much signatures and support for “We the People” as possible, and lead the people to this website instead.

    https://wwws.whitehouse.gov/petitions#!/petition/stop-expanding-trade-vietnam-expense-human-rights/53PQRDZH

    Furthermore, I ask that you help support “We the People” by ceasing the advertisement of other petitions, as I have already explained why multiple petitions are not advantageous to the cause.

    It’s very good that you are tweeting celebrities to support Viet Khang’s cause. However, as any Twitter user knows, simply tweeting a celebrity does not mean that they well get your message. Someone like Leonardo DiCaprio or Angelina Jolie receives hundreds, even thousands of tweets a day from their fans, do you think your one tweet will make a difference? Admirable, but you’ll need to change up your tactics.

    If you truly want to organize a national day of protest for Viet Khang, I respect and support that. However, I need to see results, and that is where you must prove yourself.

    I hope you are not offended by my skepticism, and that you do not take personally my initial perception that you are a Communist. It was my fault for being so loose and reckless with that term. After all, Communists are the most pathetic, greedy, shameful, cowardly, and deplored packs of dogs in the political world. Are they weasels? They remind me of weasels (and rats).

    I can understand how being called a Communist can upset anyone. After all, there is little I can think of that is lower than a Communist.

    Anyways, if you are truly and sincerely fighting for freedom and democracy for Vietnam, and that it is in your heart to see that Viet Khang go free, then I support you as well. Good luck in your pursuit of a free, democratic, and prosperous Vietnam!

    Cheers, mate!

  25. There you go again Ian, having your facts all wrong.

    I started my petition on 1/6/12, three days after I learned of VK’s songs and imprisonment. Go read it and its blog so that you can get a better understanding of the facts. The WH petition started on 1/8/12 and it is different than mine because it covers the larger Human Rights issue. My just says please help to gain VK’s release and it is intended for many different governments. I am not in the media profession, SBTN is.

    Start up a rival political party – Party? I am just an ordinary JOE (in your case, it’s MATE). Rival? Is it really rivalry when I send people to the other petition both publicly and privately sending emails to the people who signed my petition? You sure have a funny way to understanding rivalry; I guess you didn’t read my earlier post about my choosing a win-win approach.
    I don’t agree with your opinion that there should only be one petition, everyone’s entitled to their own opinion so let’s just leave it at that.

    Where is it that I direct people to Truc Ho’s page (don’t even know what page you’re referring to)? I send them to the WH site.
    Are you sure that Obama will look at the WH petition? Or is it that the STAFF will evaluate the petition before sending it to the appropriate policy makers in the Administration for their action (based on the whitehouse.gov info)? And who is charge of foreign policy? It is the State Department. I hope that I am wrong and Obama will speak out for Human Rights in VN, but from what I can gather I seriously doubt it. The petition tool was designed for the people to bring important issues facing the US to the administration’s attention. Are VK or human rights important issues facing this country? It is election year, is the staff going to say no to the Vietnamese community? Or Obama will speak out to get his votes?

    Where is it that I am advertising other petitions? In fact, I didn’t even know there was one created on 1/20/12 on the same site until I chatted with one of my supporters last night. And this morning, I got an email from New Zealand notifying me another one just showed up on 2/22/12. They both carry the name free-viet-khang and they look like the work of someone from VN. I have no proof whatsoever about the people behind these two, but I have my own suspensions. I am aware of another one started by some lady lawyer in Houston but I haven’t seen it. Are you going to send her an email asking her to stop?

    You don’t think I am aware of the odds of getting a response from a celeb? But, at least I tried instead of doing NOTHING.
    Why should I prove myself to you for organizing the demonstrations? Did I ask for your help? Aren’t you in the land of down under? Let’s say that you are in the US, why should you care of who I am instead of believing in the cause for the demonstration? Whatever happened to your concept of standing together?

    Get a grip mate!!

    • “Free” Viet Khang….. I’ve explained all I can to you. If you keep twisting my words to glorify yourself and play the victim, I am not going to stop you.

      I know you started your petition on January 5 (or was it 6th? I can’t remember), I didn’t accuse you of that. Just because you call it a “win-win” approach does not make it so. You are still fragmenting the vote (signatures), which undermines the unity that I am promoting.

      Just so we’re clear, Truc Ho’s page is the “We the People” White House page I was referring to. The Party statement was just an analogy, sorry you couldn’t catch that. You messaged my associate on Twitter @vietnamsvoice, so you asked for our help.

      I’ve simplified things as much as possible, yet you still can’t understand it. I’ve also told you that if we are fighting for the same cause, then I support you too. I am not your enemy, unless you take me to be.

      It is unfortunate that you’ve become so angry at this situation, that you have lost sight of what we are advocating here, and that is unity, and the freedom and prosperity of Vietnam.

      Nonetheless, I trust the judgement of my readers and their ability to understand the truth. They will be the judges in the end, I won’t be worried about that.

      Once again,
      Cheers, mate.

  26. First you accused me of being VC, then you said I started a rivalry petition, and now telling me I’m glorifying myself.

    No Ian, you’re not my enemy. I don’t know you swat and you just got your facts wrong.

  27. “It doesn’t make any sense for your petition to direct signers to Truc Ho’s page, when you can just send them directly to the White House page.”

    “Just so we’re clear, Truc Ho’s page is the “We the People” White House page I was referring to.”

    So, what are you trying to say here? You can’t have your cake and eat it too, you know…

    • Okay… One last explanation.

      Why tell signers to sign Truc Ho’s page (from your website), when you can just give them the White House link directly (instead of wasting everybody’s time with your website)? Truc Ho’s site is synonymous with the White House site (this should be obvious, but apparently not for you).

      Just look at the first line you quoted from me, and then my second quoted line. See how that one statement ties in with the other? Sorry it took you three days and I still have to explain it to you… Good luck with the whole campaign you’re throwing, you SOUND like a capable fellow.

      I have some real work to do. Have a nice day.

  28. “I trust the judgement of my readers and their ability to understand the truth.”

    So, what is the truth? It is that:

    1. You falsely accused me of being a VC based on another accusation sentence what “sounds” truth to you. I hope that your readers have a better judgement than you do.

    2. Accused me of starting a rivalry with the WH petition when my petition existed before the other and I threw my support behind it. Btw, I had my differences with SBTN but I put them away and supported them anyways.

    3. You talked through both sides of your mouth.

    The fact of the matter is you got so hung up with the “fragmentation” of the signatures that you can’t even think straight. I talked to Mr. Linh Nguyen with the Nguoi Viet newspaper, who successfully created and collected over 250K signatures for his petition. He said, “People can sign both”. EXACTLY!!!

    • Yes, you can create many pettition sites you want. But we should do thing effectively and efficiently. If too many sites are created, it would confuse the competitioners and can lead to issues of “confidence”. I suggest that you put aside your “EGO” and focus your energy and time to be an activist or learn to be an activist for “Free Viet Khang”. Remember “EGO” can be an enemy of any good organization.

  29. wow..now it’s my EGO…what a joke..

  30. I love viet khang’s music, both viet nam toi dau and anh la ai illustrates my thoughts exactly! Viet Khang is a hero!!!

    Anh Viet Khang la anh hung cua viet nam!

  31. toi con nho,truoc nam 1975 luc toi con la sinh vien,tuoi tre xuong duong,bieu tinh la chuyen thuong ..cac bantoi va toi cung ca bai do cac ban sinh vien viet ….Qua dan cay anh cam la cua nguoi ban My. Nhung Viet Nam co cau la que minh anh oi .A oi co em be tho ngoi khoc ben duong. Co ba me gia nouc mat le rung.Co chi nu sinh ao loan mau hong .Co chang canh sat reo ho la ho chien cong.Luc do chung toi vua bieu tinh ,vua hat nhu vay….Canh sat tung toan di gan chung toi co anh cuoi..chang lam gi chung toi….. Hay de cho tuoi tre duoc tu do ,duoc noi nhung gi ho nghi…..

  32. Cynthia Says:

    FREE VIET KHANG AND VIETNAM!!!
    PLEASE SIGN THE PETITIONS TO PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA!!!

  33. KINH CHAO TAT CA,
    XIN GOP Y VAO DAI SU ” CUU QUOC ” :
    * HAY THUC HIEN NGAY VIEC IN AN 2 BAN NHAC CUA VIET KHANG ; ANH LA AI, VIET NAM TOI DAU, BANG TIENG VIET,HOA,ANH,PHAP,DUC … TRONG KHUON KHO NHO, CO MAU CHO DEP, VOI DAU NHAC … DE PHAN PHAT RONG RAI TREN KHAP TOAN QUOC.
    * HAY THUC HIEN NGAY CHO KIP VOI CHIEN DICH KY KIEN NGHI VA CUOC GAP LICH SU TAI DC HOM NAY.
    * HAY DE CU DON VI THUC HIEN, TOI DE NGHI ” TUOI TRE YEU NUOC ” HAY ….
    * VIEC THUC HIEN CAC CLIP TU CAC EM NHO 2 TUOI DEN NHUNG VI DANH TIENG, TOI THAY CHUA DU HIEU LUC. NAY XIN DE NGHI HAY PHO QUAT RA MOI NGUOI DAN VIET VA THE GIOI.
    * NEU CAN TOI XIN CHIU 1 PHAN CHI PHI.
    KINH,
    JERRY

  34. NEU TAT CA DEU DONG LOAT HAT 2 BAN NHAC CUA VIET KHANG TREN MOI VUNG DAT NUOC, DO LA KHOI DAU CHO CUOC CACH MANG HOA SEN TAI VIET NAM.
    DO CUNG LA CACH DE BIET CHANH TA, VANG THAU VI NHUNG KE BAT BO CHINH LA KE BAN NUOC CAN HUY DIET.
    CAU XIN TROI DAT PHU HO CHO DAN TOC VA TO QUOC VIET NAM DUOC TU DO, HANH PHUC VA THINH VUONG.
    JERRY

  35. [...] a photo of Viet Khang, the song writer who got all of this started.  This is the rendezvous point for the demonstrators [...]

  36. Nolan Do Says:

    This man should be considered a HERO. Let’s kick some vc asses and get our country back………..

  37. Where are we with Viet Khang Now. Please update. Thanks.

  38. ly quoc tuan Says:

    cau mong cho dan toc VN cua chung ta duoc that su tu do va hanh phuc.neu co the lam duoc gi de bao ve TQ va dantoc VN ,toi luon sang sang .toi hieu rat ro cau hat coi nguon o dau ,khi TG nay da khong con VN .tat ca chung ta du dang o goc nao tren TG nay ,thi cung la nguoi VN,bien cuong rung chuyen la con dan dai viet.bon phan cua chung ta la phai doan ket lai .

  39. Viet Khang is my hero!
    Free Viet Khang Now!

  40. I think this is one of the most vital info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The website style is great, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  41. Tri hoi dau…

    [...]The Music of Viet Khang « Freedom For Vietnam[...]…

    • Hai Dong Le Roi Says:

      CSVN & CA nhan dan la nhung ke khong co con tim va khoi oc la nhung ke troi khong dung dat khong tha.

  42. Hi, always i used to check blog posts here early in the daylight, since i enjoy to gain
    knowledge of more and more.

  43. I LOVE VIET KHANG VA TOI PHUC VIET KHANG NGUOI TRAI TRE DAI DIEN NOI LEN NHUNG LOI MA NGUOI KHCA MUON NOI NHUNG KHONG DAM NOI
    Lana

  44. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and
    create my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  45. I am extremely impressed together with your writing skills as smartly as with the layout on your blog. Is that this a paid subject or did you modify it your self? Either way stay up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to peer a nice blog like this one nowadays..

  46. A person essentially lend a hand to make critically posts I’d state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and up to now?
    I surprised with the research you made to make this particular publish incredible.
    Wonderful task!

  47. Bai viet hay qua :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

