No Church In The Wild

It may seem odd to see a Jay-Z and Kanye West video posted on a blog like Freedom For Vietnam, but bare with me.  This is Jay-Z and Kanye West featuring Frank Ocean, “No Church In The Wild”, off of Jay-Z and Kanye’s Watch the Throne album.  The reason for the sharing of this video has less to do with lyrics, and more to do with the imagery.  This video shows the people rising up and waging war against police authorities, something that is perfectly applicable to Vietnam’s current situation.

Citizens of Vietnam are subjected to cruel and violent treatment by the Communist police 24/7, and are no strangers to police brutality.  In Vietnam’s police state, the authorities reign supreme over the population.  They terrorize the population for their own benefits, and they do so with impunity.  To this day, the people of Vietnam remain subjugated by the Communist Party, who tightly monitor and control their lives.  For these reasons, I find the images in Kanye’s video quite exhilarating.  One some days, I just want to see it happen to the Communist police in Vietnam.

What I like about “No Church In The Wild” is the raw emotion and sheer intensity evoked by its imagery.  I am not bothered that this song really has nothing to do with Communism or the nation of Vietnam.  The only thing I want to share is the footage of the people rising up and resisting repressive government authorities.  Kanye West and Jay-Z may be rapping about something else, but that is perfectly fine here.  As long as this message is delivered, my goal is met.  Enjoy the video, people.  Remember, use your imagination.

Editor’s Note: I’m sure many of you already know, but it is important that I address it.  This video is shared strictly for your entertainment, and should not be perceived as a swift change in attitude from this blogger or any of my associates.  I am, first and foremost, an advocate of non-violence and peaceful, yet forceful self-expression. I promote progress through knowledge, courage, and unity, and not through the unjust use of force (which the Communist police are guilty of).  Violence should only be considered as a last resort, when all other options are out of reach.

Furthermore, I do not share the views expressed in the lyrics of Kanye West and Jay-Z.  I do not preach anti-religious sentiments, nor do I care whether Jay-Z and Kanye are part of the Illuminati or not.  Frankly, my dear readers, I could care less what Jay-Z and Kanye’s religious views are or what they claim (remember, Kanye West did write “Jesus Walks”).  I do recognize that I said I hope this happens to the police in Vietnam sometimes, but that does not reflect my overall vision for moving Vietnam forward.

That statement is just my way of expressing my disdain for the Communist police, and that they do deserve to get some sense beaten into them (don’t you agree?).  If you haven’t noticed, this latest article is mostly satire at the expense of the Communist police, and also a little bit at Jay-Z and Kanye West.  As always, I appreciate your feedback and opinions, and look forward to hearing more from you all, in this post or the next.  Dear readers, cheers!

5 Responses to “No Church In The Wild”

    • Hi there Amasian, I’ve been familiar with this song for a time and understand your concerns. I’ll address them soon. Thanks for expressing them. Cheers.

      • It’s interesting the different angles you can approach the song. Not sure if I find the video an accurate depiction of the song. I understand where you’re coming from but I don’t see a clear narrative in the video so I’m uncertain that i’m sympathetic with either the mobs or the police in the video. seems like the ambiguity was on purpose…

  1. Asian Fraog Says:

    Your video seems to feature a riot rather police brutalities. Nothing relates to Vietnam !

  2. Figuratively, I’d also love to see the people of Vietnam “rise up” against the injustice, brutality, and corruption, which includes the Vietnamese police / Cong An. But I don’t think this video is the most accurate depiction of that idea, and actually I find it quite senselessly violent. I wouldn’t want to tell my children that after decades of finding and implementing non-violent means of fighting the injustice, the only answer was something like the chaos shown in this video! But I kind of see where you’re coming from. Thank you for sharing, your blog has great content and I look forward to your next post.🙂

Leave a Reply

